Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

(Healthy-ish) Chicken Broccoli Alfredo

chicken alfredo

Don’t hate me! It’s not an SCD recipe. I went off of SCD since March after 6 long months and went into complete remission (woohoo!) of Ulcerative Colitis. BUT, I still try to eat SCD and GF whenever possible. The pasta is gluten free (brown rice!) but I added some flour to make the roux.  Still, I wanted to share this moment with you because it was my first ROUX ever, and it was so delish.

For those of you who follow me, you know my recipe measurements are approximations. It’s an art, not a science! 🙂

1) Boil water, add a tablespoon of salt and a teaspoon of olive oil. This is for your pasta! I prefer penne or fusilli with my alfredo. Up to you though! Once water boils, cook pasta according to instructions. In the last 2 minutes or so, you can add your broccoli florets to the boiled water so they cook just a bit. Take out pasta and broccoli, save 1/4 cup of pasta water.
2) Heat skillet medium heat, then add olive oil. salt and pepper your chopped chicken breasts and throw them in. I used three pieces (about 1/2 pound). Set aside. You can add some salt and pepper or you can do it later!
3) Heat another skillet, medium heat, then add 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Once heated so that the oil moves smoothly around the pan, add minced garlic. I used 3 cloves for about a minute til golden brown. Don’t wait too long or the garlic tastes bitter. gross.
4) (Time for the roux!!) add flour! I used 1/4 cup just about. WHISK WHISK. Then add 1/4 cup of chicken broth (I didn’t have any, so I used 1/4 cup of pasta water, added slowly, while whisking. Added half a teaspoon of butter). KEEP WHISKING. I turned the fire low to at this point and added 1/4 cup of milk. I guestimated all of these measurements. Add about 1/4 cup of greek yogurt. WHISK. You just get a feel of the roux: It shouldn’t be watery, but it shouldn’t be too tough. Add pasta water if necessary to make it more “roux-y”.
5) Add broccoli, pasta and chicken to the skillet with your sauce. MIx and let cook for about half a minute or so. YOU’RE DONE! ENJOY!

I think you can serve about 4 people or so with this recipe, but I ate it all by myself for two meals. That’s right, judge me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2013 by in Food Diary, meal, organic, pasta, Recipe and tagged , , , , , , .
