Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Beet Arugula Salad

Continuing my love for beets, here’s a simple recipe! I actually found out about this dish because a restaurant near me had it on their menu with the ingredients listed.  I still give myself some credit because I made up the proportions and the vinaigrette on my own 😀

2-3 cooked beets, chopped to your desired thickness (yes, you can buy them this way! I avoid canned..)
3 cups of arugula
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese (trust me, it just tastes better)
roughly chopped walnuts (just need a few, can substitute with pecans)
optional: grilled chicken (using a lemon-herb marinade is recommended)

sauce:
half a lemon (about 1/4 cup of lemon juice, or more if you like it tangy)
1/4 cup olive oil (the better your olive oil, the tastier your dressing)
1/2 tsp of dijon mustard (Maille brand is the best!)
1/2 tsp of sugar (or replace with honey)
1/2 tsp oregano
salt and pepper to taste

Whisk dressing (or use a processor). combine ingredients and ENJOY! Easy right?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2013 by in Gluten-Free, organic, raw, salad, SCD and tagged , , , , , , .
