Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Chicken Parmesan

Hey lovelies!

Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Mine was quiet, and I spent my evening sitting comfortably in between my best friend and her boyfriend at Les Miserables in a La-Z-boy chair. So awesome!

For breakfast, I mixed my yogurt with pureed apple and pear (I cooked it in my crock pot One night while I slept) and some SCD bananas and raw honey. Yum.

For lunch, I made chicken parm, something I haven’t had since my college days! Making it scd legal was not difficult, but being in stage two and only a little over a month on the diet, I was nervous about using nut flour. I baked a pecan nut bread using nut butter (easier on the gut), so I just toasted it and crumbled it up for my “breading”. Makes 1 serving.

Ingredients:
1 chicken breast, butterflied and cut thinly
1 teaspoon SCD legal mustard
1/2 beaten egg
1/2 teaspoon dried dill
1/2 cup crumbs or almond flour (If tolerated)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup tomato juice (read labels! Or make your own)
1 cup Parmesan cheese, grated or sliced

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
Mix egg, mustard and dill in one bowl. Then place chicken in.
Mix crumbs and salt in other bowl.
Heat skillet to medium heat using coconut oil.
Dip each chicken into the crumbs mixture and place on skillet for 2-3 minutes. Then flip (you want to brown them, not burn!)
Now place chicken on baking dish, cover
with tomato sauce then cheese.
Bake for 15 minutes or until cheese starts bubbling!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2012 by in Food Diary, meal, Recipe, SCD.
