Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Lessons Learned

I’m one of those kinda people who need to step on bombs before I learn my lesson.  So let me share with you some CRUCIAL tips:

1. Sleep at a reasonable hour (before 10:30) and sleep enough (8-10) hours!  Sometimes we can’t help it (especially with the holidays coming up!)  but my body has not been healing as it should the past few weeks lack of sleep seems the most probable culprit.
2. Don’t be intimidated by “homemade” everything! This is something you may have heard before, but this is your lifestyle now — going 100% homemade.  No one said it was going to be easy, but the benefits are totally worth it.  I like taking shortcuts when I can and my gut has suffered for it.  DON’T CHEAT.  Start homemade yogurt as early as possible!  I still haven’t started and I’ve been on SCD for nearly 2 months now.  Shame on me!
3. Don’t Overindulge. Again, it’s difficult, because if you’re like me, you get so so so SO excited about every single new food item (or spice!) your body can tolerate.  Again, let me remind MYSELF (and you!) that this is a step by step process.  I made that mistake today.  I was so excited I could tolerate half a teaspoon of pecan butter (this my first nut butter!) So I kept sneaking in bites throughout the day.  By the third bite (probably 2.5 teaspoons in), my stomach was not happy.  Well, I’ve got a bit of D to deal with for the rest of the night.  Not a big deal, but I’m getting D because I’m doing something to hurt my GI tract.  Don’t do that to yourself!
4. Drink LOTS of water.  I know, you feel restricted already.  Everything already tastes so bland (if you can’t tolerate salt yet).  You’ve had diarrhea all week.  No excuse, still, for not drinking enough water.  The doctor orders 10 poland spring bottles.  Drink in between meals so as to not destroy the enzymes that might help your system from your foods.
5. Exercise regularly. I know, you feel weak.  Sometimes you don’t even want to get out of bed.  No excuse!  Start by doing a brisk 5 minute walk.  That’s not even around the block!  Try to do some simple stretching (taichi or yoga or just plain stretch!).  It will help you digest your food 🙂
6. Find a good support system.  I’m still trying to figure this one out.  I think it’s important since we are social beings, no matter how introverted we might be, to find a group (or even just a few people) to support us on this journey.  The internet is great, of course, but nothing beats someone who can come over, show you step-by-step how to cook SCD recipes and make homemade yogurt (i definitely would have tried earlier!), and just sit by your side and hold your hand when you’re crying because you are frustrated that you can’t just “eat like everybody else”.  Wondering if there is a way to set something up.

It’s a journey, it’s a process, and it takes a lot of work.  It does.  But in the end, everything worth anything usually takes (someone’s) sacrifice.  You’ll make it through!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
