Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Homemade Turkey Meatballs with Homemade Tomato Sauce

JUST DISCOVERED : If you leave the meatballs in the sauce overnight, it tastes exponentially more delicious!!

(If you can handle it, I imagine adding grated parmesan cheese would make it even tastier!!)

I’ve been so happy to discover that I can have tomatoes!!! Tomatoes have always been my favorite fruit (vegetable?).  Weird, I know, but as a little girl, I would sneak into the kitchen when mom was making dinner, and I’d steal wedges of raw tomatoes before she could start making dinner.  Though it’s still debated whether they are fruits or vegetables, all I know is that they’re delicious in any and every single form I can imagine.  So, now you know why I’m so excited that my body can tolerate them!!!  The following is a recipe I thought up on my way home from the doctor’s office, when I was just in the greatest mood ever to hear that I didn’t need to get a colonoscopy.

This recipe makes 15 (2-3 servings) meatballs with just enough sauce for all of them.  Feel free to play around with the different sauces!

 

HOMEMADE TURKEY MEATBALLS (I’ve made these before following a recipe I found online, but they came out way too dry.).

IMG_20121213_154710

1 lb. of turkey ground meat (mine was 93% lean, grass-fed)
2 cups of chopped baby spinach
1 cup of finely chopped parsley
4 cloves of roasted garlic (instructions below on how to roast a head of garlic!)
1 tbsp of ground cinnamon
1 zucchini puree
1 egg, beaten
dash of turmeric
dash of nutmeg
salt and pepper
butter/olive oil

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. In a large bowl, mix the parsley, spinach, zucchini, and meat together.  Then make sure your garlic is soft enough to mix evenly.  Add your ground spices and mix evenly.  Lastly, add the beaten egg to help the meat hold together.  Now you’re ready to make meatballs!  They should be about as big as 1.5 tablespoons of meat. Form round meatballs, and then throw back and forth a few times to help the meat hold.  Grease your baking pan with olive oil or, if you can handle it, with butter.

ROASTED GARLIC: cut open the top of a garlic and rub entire garlic with olive oil. Loosely wrap in foil, and bake for 30-35 minutes on 300 degrees F.
PUREED ZUCCHINI: Sautee in a pan for about 15 minutes until soft, or throw in the oven at the same time you make your garlic, but take out at around 20 minutes so that it doesn’t burn!  I’ve found sauteeing or steaming works better.  Throw in a blender and puree!

HOMEMADE TOMATO SAUCE

4 tomatoes (off the vine, organic), deseeded
1/2 yellow onion
1 zucchini puree
2 cloves of roasted garlic
salt and pepper
dash of cinnamon
dash of turmeric
dash of nutmeg
sprinkle of parsley, chopped finely
1 turkish dry bay leaf
2 tbsp of pecan milk
1/2 tsp of legal vinegar

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  I am still not sure about whether or not I can tolerate tomato seeds, but to be safe, remove tomato seeds by cutting tomatoes in half and using a spoon.  It’s easy, but feels like such a waste!  Put tomato halves on baking pan, greased lightly with olive oil. Place onions sliced loosely on top; sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake for 20 minutes.  Throw in the blender, and put into a saucepan.  Turn to medium heat and leave uncovered until it boils; then turn down to simmer with lid on.  You may throw in the zucchini puree, and your roasted garlic.  Throw in dry spices, parsley, and bay leaf.  Let simmer for about two hours.  I threw in the pecan milk at around the last 30 minutes, but I assume it would be okay to throw it in earlier.  I also added quite a bit of salt, and half a teaspoon of vinegar.  Stir occasionally (maybe once every 20 minutes?) to make sure it doesn’t burn.

Throw in your meatballs and let it cook together!  I wonder how it would taste if you pour the sauce over the meatballs and bake in the oven.  If anyone has tried this, let me know!

One comment on “Homemade Turkey Meatballs with Homemade Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Portobello Mushroom Open-Face Burger (Stuffed Portobello Mushroom) « The Gluten Free Key

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 14, 2012 by in Dairy Free, Gluten-Free, meal, Recipe, SCD, Stage 2, Stages.
