Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Really Organic?

I’m sorry I haven’t posted much. It’s been a great week and I’ve progressed pretty far along the diet! I’m on phase two now and I just started making my own pecan milk today! Unfortunately I realized that these pecans are probably pasteurized and not organic, even though I bought them from Trader Joe’s.. But I guess you work with what you have, and I pray my body won’t go nuts (no pun intended)! Instead of using just filtered water, I used one cup of coconut water. I think in the future, I’d like to add a little honey since the pecan, though definitely flavorful on its own, still wasn’t as sweet as I would like it. Then again, milk isn’t naturally sweet so I’m not sure what I was expecting!

In the next few posts I’ll share some of my recipes from this week. But I wanted to get an idea about how you guys deal with the “organic” nuts, especially when you’re making milk and trying to improve your gut! I think I can handle the pecan but I also bought bags of Blanched almond for my next experiment.

This is a little unrelated but I recently saw a tv segment on nightly news or 20/20 about genetically modified salmon in a Canadian farm. It made me sick to think about eating that salmon, and to think they are trying to get FDA approval, but isn’t this what they do with our wheat, corn and soy? They may not mess with the genes of chickens but they definitely inject something in them to make them grow so big so fast. Food for thought.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2012 by in Food Diary, genetically modified, organic, raw.
