Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Menstrual Cycle and SCD Diet

Oh man, I totally had a post done and it somehow got lost.  Yikes.  Well, hopefully I can recount all the information for you guys (well, maybe mostly, ladies for this post!) 🙂

It’s difficult when you’re on this diet (or having GI issues) and getting your period at the same time.  So I thought I’d share some of my experiences, and maybe you could give me some tips as well!  Sorry for spamming also with so many new posts, but it’s been quite an eventful week for me.

First, I just wanted to report, a normal bowel movement for two straight days in a row! Woohoo!  I am never cheating again.  Ever.  Please check out this really useful chart and remember to take it slow through the stages.

OK, so now onto the Menstrual Cycle Experience:

1. My period came one week late!! It freaked me out because I’m always on time, I don’t take birth control, and I’m not sexually active.  I think if your period is more than 2 weeks late, it’s a good idea to speak to your PHYSICIAN about it.   Before the period came, I went through the normal cramping and bloating, and as you know, sometimes your period messes with your bowels, too.  So now I’m actually pretty confused if I was intolerant of the food I had, or if it was maybe just my period?  Was it abdominal pain or was it the cycle?  So many questions!  Anyway, when it finally came…

2. My period was super light. This also freaked me out because at first, I wasn’t sure if it was just coming from my butt.  Blood only came out when I was having a bowel movement, so I thought it was from my butt, but then I figured it wasn’t.  Confusing, seriously!!  Make sure you get enough daily caloric intake.  Talk to a nutritionist about it, because I haven’t yet.  I will hopefully this coming week.

3. It’s lighter than usual, but finally here!  Well, second day, it kind of became normal.  And I feel totally fine now.  Yesterday I was feeling a bit nauseated, but again, I couldn’t tell if it was my GI tract or my period?  The woes of being a woman with GI issues!  Thanks so much, Eve, for increasing our childbearing pains by eating the fruit you weren’t supposed to.  Sigh. Heh Heh.

I might have written something else originally, but one great tip is to always remember to DRINK ENOUGH WATER.  Your body is 70% water, and you should drink half of your weight in ounces a day.  ie. I weigh 100 lbs, so I should drink 50 oz. a day.  I probably down about closer to 60 though, when I’m good about it 🙂

Next week, I’ll be trying out some lean meats! It’ll be exciting 😀  But I’m not sure what to cook it with.  I’m still not good with salt… so probably should avoid pepper.  Tumeric is apparently anti-inflammatory but it sounds a bit heavy.  Any thoughts?

Have a happy, restful weekend!  Happy SCDing!

One comment on “Menstrual Cycle and SCD Diet

  1. Alicia Ali
    March 26, 2013

    I know this is quite a bit late, but I have also found that my cycle messes with how my body feels and how it reacts to certain foods. Even ovulation does this. I try not to introduce any new foods around that time and if I do try a new food I try to make sure it’s one that seems very tolerable, fairly low in fiber and sugars such as cauliflower. I always check my tolerance by trying new foods in puree form first. But most importantly after months of this new lifestyle I am starting to recognize does this symptom feel to strange or new.

    Worst comes to worst I just stop it and wait until everything settles.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2012 by in abdominal pain, bloated, Food Diary, menstrual cycle, SCD and tagged , , , , .
