Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

On and Off

HI everyone,

These days have been a bit challenging. Since I messed up my diet last weekend, I returned to my stabilizing diet – – chicken broth and white rice congee. However, my body didn’t seem to like rice anymore, so I started on a carrot puree and added zucchini puree. My body seems to take it down pretty well, except I still have very soft stool. My sleeping schedule is still pretty bad, because I sleep around 11 and wake up around 230 in the morning. I fall back asleep around 8 after some breakfast and wake up again in the afternoon around 2.

It’s really easy to get discouraged, so I find that as you are going through this process, find a community or at least a good friend and a good nutritionist to take you through. I am still looking for a doctor who will take my unemployment insurance. I’ll keep you posted!

5 comments on “On and Off

  1. SCD Griddle
    November 17, 2012

    Hang in there, Gluten Free Key!
    Being unemployed is discouraging, as is SCD when things aren’t going well. But it is a great time to work on healing yourself, since you don’t have the hassle of dealing with an upset gut while on the clock. Cooked hamburger, squash, apple puree and bananas seemed to work for me – at times when even chicken soup didn’t do the trick.

    I’m confused, are you on SCD? Rice is made of starches that one shouldn’t consume if trying the SCD, but maybe your nutritionist or doctor has modified the diet?

    Stick with it if you can, I had a really difficult time in the beginning and things are way better for me now, 8 months later. Good luck to you!
    Theresa ~SCD Griddle

    • sinceraty
      November 17, 2012

      Thanks so much Theresa!, it seems that zucchini, carrots, and pear puree (separate of course!) seem to work well for me. Bananas are not good for me, and I know rice is not an SCD food, so I did finally decide to cut it out. I kept it in my diet because I was able to handle it, especially jasmine rice, perhaps because it was a lot less “starchy”. I love hearing success stories of the SCD diet, and thanks so much for the encouragement!!! It’s definitely a process that needs to be taken slowly, and I see how it teaches me discipline 🙂

      –Katherine

      • SCD Griddle
        November 18, 2012

        I’m glad that you know what works for you, Katherine!
        And you are right about SCD teaching discipline!!! Wow, does it ever.
        Theresa

      • sinceraty
        November 18, 2012

        Hahaha seriously 🙂

        Kind of personal-ish question: Did you have any issues when you first went on the diet and had your menstrual cycle??

      • SCD Griddle
        November 18, 2012

        Yes, I had issues with my menstrual cycle when I started! I also made a huge mistake with the diet – I kept myself in the intro phase for a month and I lost a lot of weight.
        It wasn’t normal again for about 4 – 6 months, but I really had a lot of issues to figure out and work through. And I’m still working through issues in finer detail.
        If you have any other questions, you can always email me!
        Theresa

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 16, 2012 by in community, diarrhea, Food Diary, Gluten-Free, SCD.
