Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Day 4

I’m sorry I haven’t been updating very frequently.  I’ve been really busy with trying to say goodbye to people, pack up my things, and take care of my “brother” Cameron, who just got into a horrible accident this past weekend.

I actually am starting to feel that take a toll on my body, but you know, the amazing thing is, I actually feel a lot more energetic than before getting on this diet, even though I was eating on time, and mostly hanging around in bed all day. Just goes to show the effects of eating gluten free!

A crazy, strange thing happened to me.  So I have been rinsing my mouth with salt water as well, because I heard that there may be gluten in some toothpastes.  I use Crest Pro-Health and you know what, seriously, I can’t even make this stuff up.  My gums this morning felt different.  I looked in the mirror and my gums in the front looked like I had a mild form of gingivitis.  I’ve actually been battling that for a really long time.  My doctors always gave me mouthwash and I mean, I guess it helped a little but it always came back? Now I’m really suspecting gluten might have been the culprit behind it.  It doesn’t hurt to try cutting toothpaste out for a week or so and just rinsing with salt water/baking soda.  Let me know if you have a similar experience.

Diet wise, I’ve been sticking to my broth and this really light, fluffy jasmine rice from Taiwan.  I’m not sure what the brand is, but it just tastes SO much better than the chinese rice here (that tastes heavy, and just very starchy).  I wanted to experiment with some pumpkin/yam/carrot puree today because my friend had some of it, and it looked so good, but I was a little wary to try anything before my long flight home.  I’ll probably try to have some pear+apple sauce tonight, with nothing added to it, so I’ll let you know how my body reacts 🙂

Symptoms:  Well, all is pretty good.  I haven’t had any weird heart issues.  No nausea. A little bit of bloating.  I haven’t had a bowel movement in two days, not a full one at least, so I’m a little concerned.  Not really constipation, but just nothing much coming out.  Maybe I’m not eating enough. I was super tired today, but I think it was from running around.  It wasn’t the type of heavy drowsiness I used to feel, but just tiredness.  I’ll hopefully feel better in the morning after a good night’s rest tonight!

Will keep you all posted.  Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2012 by in bloated, China, Gluten-Free, Shanghai.
