Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Recipes, SCD, follow my journey!

Asian(?) Spin-off of “The Soup that Saved My Life”

I have to give credit to Ms. Michelle for this post.  And of course, my own mom.  This is a combination of the two and I’m praying and hoping that it will heal me.  It seems to be the only thing I can have right now that doesn’t throw me off into a nasty episode of some sort (of either diarrhea or fever or nausea).  I don’t mean to call it Asian, but I can’t think of any better way to call it.  Who else puts goji berries, dried dates, and ginger into their chicken soups? Yep, the Chinese and I think Koreans (correct me if I’m wrong) certainly do!  I’ll talk a little bit about what kinda goodies you’re putting into your body.  If you think your body can handle it, definitely add a half a teaspoon of PURE tumeric ground.  I don’t know if my body is there yet, so we’ll skip it for today.

Chicken Broth — Fusion style 

  • 1 whole chicken, rinsed  or leftover chicken bones.  I used a free range organic chicken (I think?! IT was expensive!)
  • gizzards/liver and stuff you removed from the cavity (DON’T use the lungs.  I like to keep the heart and gizzard.)
  • 2 cups baby carrots (Skip if you don’t think you can handle carrots yet)
  • 2 stalks celery, split in half each
  • 1 large onion, cut in half
  • parsley leaves, chopped to your preference (I like them thinly sliced)
  • about 20 goji berries (up to you, they add a sweetness to the broth)
  • 1/4 cup ginger, chopped in thick slices
  • about 10 dried dates
  1. If your chicken is a fresh one, boil it in water first, dump out the water, and then put it in a new pot of water.  You do this to get rid of what my mom would call the “dirty blood”.  Well, actually, it’s getting rid of a lot of the fat and the grease.
  2. Now add all your ingredients.
  3. Fill the pot with water, several inches above the chicken.
  4. Slowly bring to a boil, then let simmer away for at least 4 hrs.  The longer the better. Can also keep adding water and reboil and re-simmer.
  5. Remove chicken, celery, onions, and carrots. Strain your broth.
  6. After chicken is cool enough to handle, remove meat and either place back in broth or use in another meal.
  7. Place broth in fridge.  After it is cold, any excess fat will naturally separate and you can skim it right off of the top.
  8. Add some jasmine rice if you can eat rice! yum yummy.

What you’re getting…

Chicken Bones: There’s a reason why chicken soup is widely accepted as a cure for sickness.  Well, folks, I think it’s the gelatin and the bit of bone marrow their little bones have.  Protein. And definitely calcium.  Iron. Magnesium.  Phosphorus. Tons of minerals.  Check it out.

Parsley: “anti-oxidants, vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber which helps control blood cholesterol levels, prevents constipation, protects body from free radicals mediated injury and from cancers”. Yep, that’s reason enough for me.  But it also contains vitamins A,B,K and tons of minerals!  Yummy!  Don’t eat it raw if you’re still trying to repair your GI tract.  Gotta be as nice to that lining as possible. Raw is not a good idea.

Goji Berries/wolfberries: Helps you to avoid irregular heartbeats (just what I need!) and is a great source of fiber.

Dried Dates: Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Vitamin B6, Thiamin, Niacin and Riboflavin. Aids with digestive help woohoo!

Ginger (yum!): I love this root. I always boil it when I feel like I’m just about to catch a cold, and the sickness (pretty much always) goes away!

Why I did not put in garlic… even though it’s my favorite (sad!): The sulphone hydroxyl ion penetrates the blood-brain barrier.  Apparently, back in the war days, they used to dip their missiles in garlic water so that the toxin would go into the blood.  Eek. Garlic also desynchronizes your brainwaves, so it basically makes you slow.  WHAT!  Man, this is a shocker. I just heard about this today.

Bon Appetite!

6 comments on “Asian(?) Spin-off of “The Soup that Saved My Life”

  1. Pingback: Day “1″ « The Gluten Free Key

  2. Pingback: Day 2 « The Gluten Free Key

  3. Pingback: Day 6 « The Gluten Free Key

  4. Michelle
    November 10, 2012

    Hey Katherine,
    I’m so glad I inspired you to start a blog! It’s really great to have an outlet to share what you are going thru and know that there are others who have been thru similar trials. Best wishes to you! Keep on blogging 🙂
    ~Michelle

    • sinceraty
      November 11, 2012

      Thank you for your post!!!! That is very sweet and I truly do hope the blog proves useful 🙂

  5. Pingback: Menstrual Cycle and Ulcerative Colitis — Be Prepared | Specific Carbohydrates Diet Beats Ulcerative Colitis

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2012 by in China, Dairy Free, Gluten-Free, Recipe, Soup.
